Rebuild of Evangelion




By Xboltz


I wasn’t going to watch the remake of NGE, since the original wasn’t exactly my thing. But I ended up watching it anyway…

Evangelion: 1.0 You Are (Not) Alone is the first in a series of four films that retell the story told in NGE. This first film is pretty much an exact copy of the story from the first six episodes, but with a major graphical upgrade. And it is mighty pretty, at that. The scene with Ramiel is now an awesomely epic sight to behold.

Evangelion: 2.0 You Can (Not) Advance, the second film in the tetralogy, is where the new story diverges from the old. It vaguely follows the story from episodes 8 to 19, but only vaguely. I recognized some of the scenes from the old series, but quite a few events have been changed. We have a new character, different Angels, and that ending… Asuka is still here, though. That’s good. Her last name was changed though, and for the life of me, I can’t figure out why.

In North America, the first and second films were re-released on DVD as Evangelion: 1.11 and 2.22; the third and fourth parts are supposed to be released together. Japan saw the third film’s theatrical release in November 2012, but no release date has been announced for the final film.

I really hope that the ending to this new series won’t be a letdown. We’ll have to wait and see.

Visit Xbolt’s blog:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.